Billy gets the ball rolling


A horsey friend of mine who saw my art on Facebook decided that I should share a booth with her at horse shows and sell my art. I didn’t think much of the idea, since I couldn’t fathom how people attending a horse show would be interested in my somewhat formal landscapes–especially since they generally were not populated by animals of any kind, let alone horses.

Then I thought about it for a while and decided that if I had a “hook” to draw people in–say, horse portraits–somebody might also take the time to look at the landscapes. My first guinea pig was my own horse, Billy. The photo above is the result of that experiment. I modeled my portrait style on a self-portrait that I did a few years ago when I entered a contest to exhibit a self-portrait at a show accompanying “Menopause the Musical”. Not only was the portrait accepted into the show, the organizers purchased it to follow the show to its next venue, and thenceforth across the country. So I figured that particular style–ink drawing with transparent oil wash over it–might have some value in attracting viewers.

I’m about to check out a horse show on Friday as a possible sales site. And I’m working on three more sample portraits. Updates as they become available!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in horse show vendor progress, new horse portrait and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

