Nasty ugly day at the horse show!

I was off to see the same friend of mine who got me started on this project, as she was competing in a horse show Friday. It was raining all day, windy, and cold. Everybody was cold, even the horses. The purpose of my visit, besides supporting my friend, was to talk to someone she knows who could give me some guidance on the horse portrait project.

I sort of expected that reality would be somewhat different from the picture I had painted in my head, and I was not disappointed. It wasn’t that I became discouraged particularly; more like I realized there will be a lot more work to this project than I had hoped for. To wit: I was hoping to share a booth as I started out at a newbie, but I won’t be able to do it with this particular lady because as a photographer, she doesn’t have a booth–the venues view her more as a “service” than a “vendor”, and they provide a space for her without a fee. She steered me to another source for more information, but as luck would have it, since it was pouring down rain all day that lady was not in her booth and I wasn’t able to locate her. I do know her name and phone number, so I’ll try to contact her next week. The specific information I’m looking for has mostly to do with how to avoid beginner mistakes, and what sort of things to look out for.

So far, it looks like I’m going to have to spring for my own booth, the preferred brand seems to be EZ-Up. They offer a plethora of styles, but there is a standard 10′ x 10′ booth with awning and zip-up side curtains (not to mention roof vents!) that appears most appropriate for traveling artists. Then I’ll need a lightweight folding table to put in it, along with a comfortable folding chair. Not to mention weights and stakes to keep the tent thing from blowing away on days similar to Friday! And then some sort of hanging system inside the booth to display my sample portraits and hopefully some of my other artwork as well. I’ve already put together business cards, post cards, and a stand-alone display portfolio. My horsey friend is a big fan of electronic displays–says I should get a laptop and run a video on it of me creating my work. Good thing I have a lot of experience in the video field; what I don’t have is a laptop. Fortunately, I do already own a truck to haul all this stuff around in!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in horse show vendor progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

