Booth completes successful dry run (in the rain)

What a great day! I discovered that my idea to help me put up this booth solo actually worked. I pulled out the sides, working my way around and around the legs until they wouldn’t pull out any more. By this time the roof was high enough for me to duck under the edges and get inside with a 4′ step ladder.

Then the trick: I pushed up in the very center of the booth where all the trusses meet, and rested this joint on top of the ladder. Now all the legs were slightly off the ground, and the weight of the entire booth resting on the ladder helped push up the bars on the legs so I could get them up far enough to snap into the pin holes. From that point on it was a piece of cake. Lowered the leg extensions one by one, and was ready to go with the side curtains.The side curtains turned out to be the most difficult part. The manufacturer gives you no road map to attach them, so you have to figure out for yourself which is the inside and which the outside, and how they zip together. I thought they should zip UP from the bottom, but I was wrong. Since they zipped DOWN from the top, I had to figure out how to navigate around the tie-down straps which I used from the top of the leg supports down to a corkscrew dog tie-out in the ground, in order to stabilize the whole structure.

It also took a lot of rejiggering to get the side curtains in the right position so that they would actually zip together without being stretched to oblivion.

Final product was rewarding, however. Except for the blank spaces on the left rack where I still have to complete the two paintings which will go there, the whole thing is together!

My last act was to zip the whole thing up (after removing the valuable stuff I don’t want ruined in case of disaster) and am leaving it up for the night. It wasn’t particularly windy today, and doesn’t look like it will be tonight, either. I’m told by my booth guru friend that unless a hurricane comes up, the booth should stay put with the stakes and the tie-downs the way I did them. Sigh…mission accomplished! .

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in exhibit booth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

