It’s a Small World, After All

Finally got my rear end into my truck today and delivered six more display cards to bulletin boards at local barns. I like to say “local”, but I probably traveled a hundred miles today to do this. Which is what was keeping me from getting excited about doing it in the first place. Last week I did three, but that didn’t involve any work besides handing the cards to people who were going to put them up for me.

Anyhow, the interesting part about today was the coincidental nature of it. I visited a huge boarding and show barn an hour’s drive from my old house. When I pulled into the parking lot, I saw a familiar SUV with a vanity license plate I recognized. It was a former neighbor whom I had never met, but whose car was always parked across the street. I found out she boards her horse at this barn–what a commute! After that stop, I went up the road to a newly established place where I discovered that a horse I had known (and ridden once) years ago was now in residence. His owner and my boyfriend are friends, too. Boyfriend is not “horsey”, by the way. These two people met under totally different circumstances.

So that’s 9 down, 5 to go for the displays. I also put a small ad in a regional horse rag which will run for three issues. I can track the number of visits to my website, so even if I don’t get any direct communications as a result of these efforts, I will at least be able to see if there was an increase in web traffic. Should be interesting to see if any of this makes a difference.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in marketing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

