Willow Tree Mini Expo

Willow Tree

Vendor Row at Willow Tree

Spent a fun day the Saturday after Thanksgiving at Willow Tree Equestrian Center’s horse seminar, tack sale, and breed demo.  As you can see, the interior of the barn has super-wide aisles–enough for a row of vendor spaces on both sides. The horses were mostly out in the pastures for the day, so we didn’t get in each other’s way.  I received a lot of interest in my portraits in just this one day–more than I received at some two-day horse shows last summer! There were lots of Western types here too, as is obvious from the photo. They were a very friendly bunch, a lot more willing to stop and talk than most people are when they’re busy competing at a horse show. I was the lucky winner of a Nutrena cap and t-shirt at the nutrition seminar. As an avid reader of Equus (a horse magazine geared toward horse care and medical issues) I have a lot of horse trivia floating around in my brain. I was the only one who knew that forage remains in a horse’s stomach for only about 15-20 minutes before moving along to the next portion of the digestive tract. Score one t-shirt. Someone in the audience asked a question about tying up (a muscular condition in some horses) and the presenter asked if anybody knew what it was. I launched into my 5-minute lecture on tying up and scored the baseball cap. It helped that I had gone through this particular horse nightmare twice with my own horse, so I was somewhat of an expert. A good time was had by all, I met a lot of nice people, and even had a chance to pitch another free portrait to the gal at the humane society table next to mine. We’ll see what happens!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in horse show vendor progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

