Monochrome Sue

Sue takes shape--looking pretty good!

Sue takes shape--looking pretty good!

Ah, what a few hours of teeny tiny pen strokes will do! I’m going to let the ink dry thoroughly, and then my plan is to finish the painting sometime by the end of the week, depending on how many layers of paint I need to make me happy. Since Sue is a dark colored horse, that means a lot of layers, and each one has to be at least almost dry before the next goes on. So while there might not be a lot of time spent painting, there is a lot of time spent waiting for paint to dry. I won’t be watching that paint dry, though. More like coming by every now and then to take a peek and decide on my next move. As I mentioned in an earlier post, the challenge is going to be the blurry background and Sue’s fuzzy coat. I’ve been thinking about it all along as I drew her, but something always comes up that I didn’t count on when I’m in the midst of painting–so we’ll see what new adventures Sue has in store for me.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in horse rescue promotion, new horse portrait and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monochrome Sue

  1. Sue Steiner says:

    Alli,
    I love your art and your blog. I would love to follow your blog but am unsure how to do that.

    Thanks!

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Silly me, I never thought anyone would even find my blog, let alone subscribe to it! So I’ve just added a “subscribe” button in the sidebar just below my little biography paragraph. You can be my test case and let me know if it works! WordPress also includes a subscribe button at the top of the page labeled “Feed”, and a couple of choices to click. It’s been there from day one, but I’ve never tried it and don’t know exactly what it does–seems to be some kind of RSS feed, but that’s not something I ever use.

      Thanks for your enthusiasm!

      Alli

      Like

Leave a Reply

