It’s been a good painting day

Sue--almost finished!

Sue--almost finished!

I kind of lost track, but I think there are four layers on the painting now. A couple of areas might have 5 or 6, mostly in the mane area. I was concerned about depicting her fuzzy coat, but as it turns out, my pen technique saved my butt on this one. All of the variation in texture on her neck and back areas are just the pen strokes showing through the transparent paint. In case you’re wondering how I can get so many layers of paint on one painting in one day, the answer is truly simple. The painting medium I use has a drier in it. If they ever stop making Grumbacher Painting Medium III, I’ll be a dead duck. I’ve been using it for over 20 years, and would have to do a lot of experimenting to get a similar result with some other medium.

The only thing left to do is integrate the border areas of the figure into the snowy, foggy background. There are clumps of snow on her mane which need to be added, and flecks of snow throughout her coat. I’ll wait till tomorrow for that. Enough for one day!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in horse rescue promotion, painting techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

