Watercolor adventure

I haven’t done any watercolors in a few months, so while I’m still waiting for a warmish day so I can go outside and pour a wash on my next oil painting (the “roofscape” drawing is on the canvas, just needs the wash over it) I decided to try a small watercolor of one of the photos I took while cross-country skiing a couple of weeks ago. But before I started the painting, I was putting away some drawings in my flat files and ran across some watercolor technique notes from a class I attended years ago. I read them and got to thinking about using gum arabic, which I possess but also haven’t used in years. So I started experimenting on some old watercolor sheets, and found a technique I liked for the sky. By this time I had spent a good chunk of time reading and “playing”, so the only thing I got done was that sky! Photo will post when there’s a little more to look at…

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, painting techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

