Give the sky some company

Creek at Lawless Park

Creek at Lawless Park

At last the fleeting sky is united with earth and water. I actually completed this little (7″ x 10″) watercolor two days ago, but a scanner mishap kept me from getting it into pixel form until today. Finally got access to another scanner, and voilà! I had a good time painting this little study, even though through much of the process I wasn’t sure if I was going to like the result. It’s been a while since I did a watercolor, and I always feel a little bit like I’m reinventing the wheel when I’ve neglected a particular technique over time. It’s even worse if I pull out some of my old watercolors, back when I was doing a lot of them, and see how nicely I handled things such as rippling water. Then I start to wonder how the heck I did that, and do some test runs on old scrap watercolor paper. The test runs provide some clues, but in the end I have to just “dive in” (pardon the lousy pun) and take whatever results I get. I look at this little painting and I’m happy.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, painting techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

