An increasingly rare find

I happened upon an abandoned old feedstore last week, quite different from “Amber Grain”, the one in the painting I currently have on display at Union Street Gallery. I had been hoping to find an ancient falling-down gem like this for a future painting, but it seems like these things never turn up when you’re actively looking for them. I was headed to my vet’s barn to visit my convalescing horse (torn ligament–boo!!!) when out of the corner of my eye I saw this wonderful structure which I had passed by many times before without even noticing. It’s tall and sprawling at the same time, and has the intriguing roofline that I love to paint. I shot what seemed like a zillion photos, and will post the winner after I’ve completed the difficult winnowing process. There seem to be so many good angles to choose from!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

