First incarnation of white horse–and then some

Blue--first pass

Blue--first pass

He does look kind of blue right now, but he’s going to end up mostly white. I’m doing a little experiment this time around. My first white horse, Frosty, began with white paint and then violet/blue colors blended on top of the white. I’ve reversed the order for Blue, starting with a purple-gray color and blending white on top of that. My thinking is that the undercoat will show through in the shadow areas more subtly if I do it in this order. That’s my thought, anyway. We’ll see how it all pans out a few coats of paint down the line.

Blue, second go-round

Blue, second go-round

So I had a little energy rush and did the second pass on this painting today. I think this may be all that the horse part of it needs, except for some detail in the mane, which is still too wet to work right now. Rather than do a new post, I just added this to the day’s previous one. I’m quite happy with the way this is turning out. The only major decision left is what colors to do the background. The original photo is all spring greenness, which I don’t think will bring out the best in this horse. So as usual, I’ll sleep on it for a day or two and then work it out.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, new horse portrait and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

