The next roofscape challenge begins

pencil drawing

The pencil drawing looks like ink, but really it is pencil

I just completed this drawing, which was about to drive me crazy since architectural rendering is so-o-o-o not my specialty. I do it because it’s a real challenge and demands that I pay attention to all the angles and shapes. This pencil drawing looks like ink, but that’s because I set the contrast high when I was scanning it. I’m nowhere near confident enough to do an original architectural drawing in ink, although I do ink drawings of horses all the time. The best way to get good at drawing is to keep drawing, so I guess I’ll know I’m “good enough” at rendering architecture when I’m confident enough to do it with a pen! Stay tuned for the monochrome test run coming up soon.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, painting techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

