Elvis has left the building…check the paddock

Elvis is inked

Elvis is inked

I had the usual look of wonder on my face after I finished the ink portion of this painting. I’m in that state of wonder because it’s just so hard to tell from the (very) light pencil sketch what I’m going to have after I do the ink. I have to trust those faint pencil lines, even though they are so faint that if I prop up the canvas and step back I can’t really see them. It’s a tightrope walk, and so far I haven’t fallen. I may not like a detail or two, but I can usually adjust that with the paint layers. A major design defect would pose a much larger problem, maybe even necessitate starting over. I haven’t had to do that yet, although I probably shouldn’t mention it unless I want Murphy’s Law to kick in. Let’s just say the ink portion of the process is an act of faith, and brings with it the concomitant feeling of wonder upon completion.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch…er, drawing board…I still haven’t come up with another color scheme for the Marlowe building. I will. But I have to wait for it to happen. Elvis is a nice diversion while I wait.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, painting techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

