Elvis heads for the woods

Elvis looks quite contented in his own private woodland

Elvis looks quite contented in his own private woodland

Although I had a definite idea in my head of what I wanted the background to be, this isn’t it. Which isn’t to say I don’t like it, because I think it turned out quite nicely. Once again in my own peculiar artist’s fashion, I just started painting and let the process take me wherever it wanted. I had used a palette knife for the background in my portrait of Billy running, but up to this point that was the only time I used that technique in a horse portrait. It popped into my mind again today, so I just went with it. I’m still surprised at the variety of textures I can get with the knife. Some of it involves lifting the wet paint off after applying it, which gives the illusion of tall grasses in the foreground.

Aside from the background, I realized Elvis needed a little more shadow and definition on his face; that was simply a quick fix once I realized what was needed. I’m happy now.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, new horse portrait, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

