An intriguing start for Marlowe

Marlowe wash

Purple, hot pink and yellow form the base colors for this new painting

I just love the way the colors blended this time to give a strong suggestion about how the sky should be portrayed. If you saw the preliminary wash for “Castaways Surrender” you might have noticed that in comparison that wash is very pale and very blended. I did two things differently this time–one, I used more paint in the solvent than usual, making the color thicker and more opaque. And two, I used turpentine as the solvent rather than regular paint thinner. Turpentine seems to want to make the paint “float” on the surface longer. I really don’t know any other way to explain it. I guess you’d have to see the process in person to appreciate it. But I counted on the fact that I would get sharper boundaries with the turpentine, and am super happy with the way it turned out.

Some day when I have nothing better to do, I’m going to just pour paint without a drawing underneath and simply let the painting “happen”. Some of these “pours” are so nice they would be able to stand on their own as finished paintings. I taught my artist friend Helen Kim this technique many years ago; she grabbed it and ran with it and did a large series of spectacular paintings which ended up in a solo exhibit in a prestigious gallery in Korea. Here are three of her evocative paintings (they are all titled “Inscape”):

Unfortunately, she does not have a website that I know of, so I haven’t provided a link. There are tons of Helen Kims out there, but so far she is not one of them.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, painting techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

