Anticipating winter?

Vandalia

Vandalia

It’s been a busy summer, as evidenced by how long it took me to squeeze in painting time for this little (7″ x 10″) watercolor. I think I started it even before summer began, but between horse shows and a welcome increase in days booked at my freelance job (oh yes, and let’s not forget all the time spent rehabbing my darling horse!) there wasn’t a lot of time left over for paintings that were not horse-related.

Anyhow, this little painting is a companion to my previous version of the creek at T K  Lawless Park in Vandalia, MI, (on my blog dated March 6) where the cross country skiing is truly a delight. The park accommodates all levels, from challenges that might make even an advanced skier think twice, to simple flatland tours featuring lovely scenery such as this winding creek. I have one more photo of this creek that I would like to paint, but it’s going to have to wait for me to get started on the oil painting I’m about to tackle based on another watercolor creek–Conkle’s Hollow in Ohio–which I mentioned in my blog back on June 18th!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

