Nik is starting to bloom

Nik at a day and a half...??? to go

Nik at a day and a half...??? to go

Everything is blocked in to give the general effect at this point. Refinement will come in the next few days. How many days those will be, I can’t say right now. But I’m really liking the feeling of this painting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nik - original source photo

Nik - original source photo

Once again I had a “photo challenge” requiring a little invention on my part. This is the original photo of Nik, which did not show much of his neck or shoulder.  I got lucky and found a picture of another bay horse taken from the same angle and with similar lighting (although it was facing the opposite direction, so I had to flip it around in Photoshop) and I was able to blend the elements from that photo onto Nik to provide the missing information.

Oops, I just noticed a couple wisps of his forelock got covered by my sky background. Better remember to put those back in!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in latest version and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

