Four coats later

Royce, with two day's worth of paint on him

Royce, with two day's worth of paint on him

Considering that Royce is part paint horse, along with the Arabian blood, I guess I’m making everybody reading this a victim of one more of my awful puns. Got the first coat of paint on him yesterday, and three more today. Considering that he is a copper-penny chestnut, I’m probably very close to finished. The chestnuts don’t need nearly as many passes with the paintbrush as the bays and blacks do.

I don’t usually give much press to my backgrounds, but this one was kind of interesting. I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to put back there, so I just started with some random sky and a little bit of hills in the distance. The sky was going nowhere fast at first–it was one of those times I didn’t use any reference photos at all. But I just kept at it until all of a sudden I noticed the clouds had a kind of radiating effect which sort of echoed the circular motion of the blowing mane. Fortunately I was able to make myself stop fiddling around with it at that point. I like it!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in latest version and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

