To be or not to be?

Very early rendition of "Becca's Stream", so named for my friend who took the photo and graciously allowed me to use it.

Very early rendition of "Becca's Stream", so named for my friend who took the photo and graciously allowed me to use it.

I’m just not sure where I’m going with this large (for me, anyway) watercolor. I can’t prop it up against the wall to look at it because I had to tape it to my work table. It was the last sheet on the pad and it had come loose from the backing board that keeps watercolor paper stretched while you’re working on it. So I had little idea what it looked like until I climbed up on the table to take a picture of it!

This is what I have after two days of work. I admit I’m slow, but this time I am unusually slow because I’m stymied by my lack of large-scale watercolor technique. I know I used to have it because I have sold and also kept many watercolors of this size. But somewhere in the intervening years since the last one I did (probably late 90’s) I have forgotten many of the little tricks that make watercolor control easier. At least I can see from the photo that the basic drawing is okay, now I have to force myself to work in the paint even though with practically every stroke I feel like I am headed in the wrong direction. That’s such a discouraging feeling, but one that will benefit me to work through. Even if the result is less than stellar, I will have learned (or “re”-learned) something!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

