Unanticipated bumps in the road

Ever since somebody sneezed in my face last week, I’ve had the most annoying cold–which has kept me from working on the “mystery horse”, the lovely Gypsy Vanner, and his partner, a regal Friesian whose photo I bought at the same time as the Gypsy’s. I wanted to have both of these paintings completed in time for Horse-A-Rama in early May. I have sniffled my way through the pencil sketch for the Gypsy, and haven’t even looked at the Friesian yet. It’s amazing how a head cold can just freeze up your brain cells–in my case, it seems like the brain doesn’t register what I’m looking at in order to get the proportions right when drawing from the photograph onto the canvas. I think I have done more erasing and redrawing on this one than ever before. Then again, I never had to do a drawing when I was sick before! Quite annoying, since I am usually quite healthy.

Gypsy Vanner pencil drawing

Gypsy Vanner pencil drawing

Gypsy original photo

Gypsy original photo

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in new horse portrait and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

