It’s that time of year again

Time to what? you  may ask. Wash and waterproof horse blankets, of course. One of the gals at my barn recommended Nikwax rug wash and rug proof (2 separate products). I had never heard of either of them. But considering the reasonable price, and the fact that I had exhausted 4 cans of $10 waterproofing spray last fall just to get one blanket winter-weather worthy, I thought it might be worth it to experiment.

I just finished washing the first blanket, and I was amazed how clean it was. I never got it this clean with laundry detergent. It’s in the waterproofing cycle now, and when it dries we’ll see how waterproof it actually is. If this stuff works as advertised, I’m going to kick myself for not having known about it years ago! Then maybe I’ll offer myself to Nikwax to do a “real person” ad for, oh, a nominal fee…

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in random thoughts, silly stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

