Wonder Horse

I rode my Billy again this week, after a couple of weeks off, and this horse continues to amaze me. Usually when I first get on, his trot is short, choppy and a little lopsided. Not this time. He trotted out straight and true, and just got better as the ride progressed. Near the end, I stole a glance in the mirror and couldn’t believe how long his stride looked and how he was reaching forward with his head and neck. I’m still convinced that he will never regain all of his former lovely movement because of the nature of his injury, but wow, he sure has come a long way back from what he was last November. It also appears that galloping out in the pasture hasn’t set him back any–each time I turn him out after a ride he takes off to join his friends out in the herd. And come time for the next ride, he’s better and better. Many thanks to my trainer, Karin, for pushing me to give ol’ Billy a job again!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in Billy's progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonder Horse

  1. Perhaps you’re more fluid and relaxed too, Alli :-). So glad to hear Billy’s coming along so nicely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

