I stand corrected

A few more passes

A few more passes

I collected some interesting information on our subjects which deserves sharing (and also correcting!). The large horse is Gunny–she was the 2010 Indiana Therapy Horse of the Year. The one I have been calling a pony is actually a miniature horse, named Rosie, and she was the Exceptional Therapy Horse Challenge Winner in 2010 at the Hoosier Horse Fair in Indianapolis. So we have two real winners here from the Reins of Life therapeutic riding program. Both of them are still working away, happily making life better for the wide variety of clients which Reins of Life serves.

Now all I have to do is paint them. You may have noticed I have painted just about everything else but the horses. Actually, since the last post the grass has had three more coats, but it still needs more because it is way too green. Not to worry. I started the leaves (aren’t those GREAT-looking leaves?) because I had to wait for the grass to dry. Not as bad as waiting for hay to dry I guess, but a wait nonetheless. I knew I had more time for this painting than I usually do for a portrait, so I’m using a painting medium that takes longer to dry than the one I normally use. I like the way this particular medium handles the paint, but the disadvantage is that it takes longer to dry. The horses have to wait because the scumbling technique I will be using on the grass can sometimes spill over into areas it’s not wanted (such as the horses’ bodies) and it’s better to have that happen before I paint them rather than after. And you thought artists just sit down and let the painting flow out of their hands, didn’t you? I wish!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, latest version, painting techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I stand corrected

  1. JesKimSea says:

    I just love watching the way your beautiful artwork comes to life. Seeing your work through its various stages and watching it all flow towards completion is a real treat. And what great subject matter and detail!
    Totally loving the “miniature horse’s” topknot 😀

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks, Jessica–I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I have to admit that posting on the blog is one of the things that keeps me moving forward on the paintings. I have a tendency toward procrastination, which isn’t helpful considering that the actual painting process is fairly slow to begin with! So knowing that some folks out there are waiting for updates keeps me producing even in those instances when the deadline isn’t immediate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

