How long for a leaf to turn?

more leaves, and two coats on the horses

more leaves, and two coats on the horses

So how long DOES it take for a leaf to turn? In this case, about as long as it takes for the real ones to do it, I’m thinking. We’re working our way across the canvas, and in the meantime the horses are just beginning to get some color. Two coats, to be exact. They have quite a few more to go, and these leaves might get a little darker depending on how Gunny (the chestnut) turns out. Can’t have the red leaves disappearing in her reddish-brown coat you know!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, latest version and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How long for a leaf to turn?

  1. munchow says:

    I really enjoy watching how the pictures you make take form over time. Wonderfully done.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks Otto…what I find also interesting is to see how other artists approach similar work. The ones who amaze me are those who complete a section of the painting at a time. I’ve done an occasional landscape that way, but I much prefer to get my mind wrapped around the whole picture, so to speak.

      Like

  2. Cathy Alwine says:

    Alli–this looks great! Its so interesting to follow along & learn how this all comes together. And yes, the leaves are very cool! Love the veins.

    Like

  3. Gina Ayersman says:

    What a nice setting! I love the colors of the leaves surrounding such a touching scene!

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks Gina! I’m still in my “I’m not quite sure how all this is going to work out” mode, which happens regularly with every painting I do. Somehow they always work out, but not because I’ve meticulously planned it that way! I’ve never missed a deadline, but the uncertainty of a painting’s direction often encourages my tendency to procrastinate.I should put a more positive spin on that thought by maintaining that the process is “jelling” in my mind. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

