Billy’s harem, chapter 2

About 2 or so more passes, and some detail is developing

About 2 or so more passes, and some detail is developing

I think I now know why the drawing took so long. When I stepped back and looked at the latest incarnation of this painting, I was astounded at how exactly like my horse the image was. I was so intent on making it look just like him that I kept endlessly revising the drawing until it was so. Even though I didn’t really “see” it until a few layers of paint later.

That’s always the surprise with my painting. I truly mean it when I say that I never really know how a painting is going to turn out until it’s finished. It’s just such a rewarding surprise to see it take shape this early in the process.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, latest version, painting techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Billy’s harem, chapter 2

  1. Gina Ayersman says:

    I really like it! If the second “girlfriend’s” head was showing, that would be a plus. Regardless, Billy looks perfectly content!

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Gina–
      I think old Mr. Bill didn’t want anyone to see how lovely she was…so he stood in front of her. You never know when some other upstart gelding will try to horn in on one of your ladies.

      Like

  2. munchow says:

    It’s a lovely painting, so full of serenity and peace. The horses seems to have a very good time together, and completely relaxed. I think the process – and the surprise in the end – is one of the gifts from doing creative work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

