Only a couple mares–I mean layers–to go

Only the woods in the background left to finish

Only the woods in the background left to finish

I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to discover just the right color for the lightest part of the woods. I wanted something fairly neutral, but not gray. I kept ending up with pink. Finally looked at my palette and remembered this very dark purple-red I mixed earlier for the dark areas of the two mares. Thinned it out to almost nothing, glazed it over the woods area and voilà! When that dries, I can enrich the dark areas and add the tree trunks. Home stretch, yeah baby!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, latest version, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Only a couple mares–I mean layers–to go

  1. munchow says:

    The jump from the last version to this, is amazing. Suddenly so rich in details and coming to life. And the colours have truly come out now. It’s a wonderful painting – even if there are still a few layers missing.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      One of the risks I take with posting in-progress paintings is that people (clients in particular) will fall in love with one version and then can’t wrap their mind around the next one. So far that hasn’t happened, but I have had a client or two who told me later that they were on the verge of interfering and then when the painting was complete were glad they didn’t. Glad you still like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

