Mission accomplished

Finished!

Finished!

Billy and his lady friends are finished, and my goal to have this painting in time to display at my booth at the upcoming MSU Spartan Stampede Rodeo has been accomplished. I haven’t had any new paintings on my racks since last spring, so it was about time. Since my display paintings up till now have been obvious portraits, I’ve never had anyone inquire about buying one right off the rack. So now I have a dilemma–this one is very special to me, since it’s my own horse in a scene that is just so-o-o “him”, but not really a portrait in the traditional sense. For sale or not for sale?

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, horses, latest version and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mission accomplished

  1. munchow says:

    I still like it. Even better. The richness have come out so nicely. Those small details really makes a big different. Comparing with the photograph I see you have added so much of your own personal vision to the painting. It’s a wonderful piece of art.

    Like

  2. Gina Ayersman says:

    What a great finish! Love the greens of the grass…very peaceful feel. Billy is sure lucky to have those ladies!

    Like

  3. JesKimSea says:

    What a masterpiece! This is truly an exceptional work of art, Alli!

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks Jessica! There certainly is something about this painting that pulls the viewer right in. As the artist, I suppose I should have something to say about how that came about, but the truth is, just as in all my paintings, “it just happened”. I’m glad it did, and thankful that I possess whatever it is in me that allows this process to fulfill itself.

      Like

  4. Rayya says:

    Alli…my mom was also faced with your dilemma and she chose not to sell her portrait. Go with your gut feeling! Absolutley stunning work and I can see why someone wants to buy it straight up šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Hi Rayya–yes I did decide that I can’t part with it…it will be strictly a display item to show what is possible. If it weren’t my horse, it would be a different story, but he’s getting older and has his share of physical issues and I definitely want this scene to be the one I will be able to remember him by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

