Quick update on Fred

 

Fred is very close to done. I’ve softened the muzzle, added detail to the mane and some fuzzy hair to the ears, and gone over the background again. Now what’s left (unless I change my mind, as often happens…) is to get a little more foggy effect into the background, and to add some gold-gray shadow areas in the mane and forelock. Upon client’s final approval, he gets to dry for a couple of weeks to make sure he’s safe for shipping. Then he’s off to home and hopefully a warm reception from his owner for 29 years!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in horses, latest version and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick update on Fred

  1. Deb Reda says:

    Good for you! I think I may be following something of a similar adventure, however I won’t get to start mine quite yet until I complete a few remaining tasks-such as completing my last few days of work, follow that up with a brief period of recovery, both mental and physical! Then, after my head clears, and life has gone on, I will dust myself off, and go back to doing the things I really like- which includes horses, dogs, and no more work in that toxic environment. It is too bad it takes so much money to breed and feed horses!

    Like

  2. Love seeing your process from start to finish.
    Hansi

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks for following along, Hansi! I used to read a bunch of artist how-to mags, and I was always amazed how much artwork changed from start to finish. It can be a little risky showing in-progress work to a client because they don’t always know how not to take things too literally, but so far I’ve found that they enjoy watching the process too. Keep exploring your new color options, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

