Finally Fred

I made a few changes that I hadn’t predicted in my last post about Fred, but I won’t detail them here. I’ll let you play the “how many things can you find in this photo” game instead…naughty me! Anyhow, the photo has been sent to my client for approval, and we’ll see what happens from there.

Meanwhile, I have to get cracking and finish the painting of the drafts. It does have a lot more work done since I last posted a photo, but it’s still got a bit to go. I really want to have it finished and framed by next weekend when it will go with me to the annual Harvard Milk Days horse show (where I took the reference photo last year).

 

"Coming on Lightly"

“Coming on Lightly”

On the gallery scene, my painting of the old Marlowe feed mill in Huntley, Illinois has been accepted into the “Culture and Agriculture” show at New Visions gallery in Marshfield, Wisconsin. This is an annual show which I have exhibited in before, and am pleased that they have chosen me for a repeat appearance. The show will run from July 9 till August 31. Now all I have to do is locate a suitable gorilla-proof box to ship it in, since I gave up dealing with heavy wooden crates that were a pain for both me and the galleries…

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, exhibit opportunity, gallery show, horses, latest version and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finally Fred

  1. Alli, congrats on the show selection! I do like this painting. Very interesting.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks Nanette! I like painting old broken-down rural buildings, but only if they have some sort of readily discernible history. In the case of this one it still had “Marlowe Feed” written all over it in at least foot-high letters. When I photographed it, it looked like it had been abandoned for a long, long time. It was kind of spooky walking around this really huge complex, but the spookiness didn’t come across in the photos, so I gave it a little help when I painted it…

      Like

      • Yes, I have a fondness for old buildings too – although prefer to see them not too broken down (sad to see such beautiful buildings around here that have lasted for a century or more fall to recent neglect). Perhaps you’ll do another with more of the building included some time?

        Like

        • Alli Farkas says:

          Nanette, in this particular case the building is so massive that its character gets lost–kind of like a reverse “forest through the trees”–you would see the massiveness of the building but none of the details that give it any kind of personality. I always have an eye out for future compositions, though, so who knows what may come up next?

          Like

  2. Wow! These are amazing! I love how detailed the one of Fred is! Congrats on the exhibit! Beautiful painting of the mill 🙂

    Like

  3. munchow says:

    Congratulations with the acceptance of of the old Marlowe feed mill in Huntley. It’s a great painting with a lot of dramatic lighting. Very nice. Then good luck with getting Fred approved by your client. It’s a beautiful painting – even when it’s not finish as it appears in this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

