From ink to Aquabord™

“Tag”, from the original ink drawing titled “Let’s Play Tag” (minus one horse!)

“Let’s Play Tag”, more hijinks at Willow Tree Equestrian Center.

“Chase”, from the original ink drawing titled “Running Room”

“Running Room”, two of Willow Tree’s horses have a spring fling back in March’s unusual 90 degree weather.

I used to harbor a distaste for drawing the same thing twice, but I’m discovering that I can do the second drawing much more quickly after completing a “rehearsal”. So I’ve taken a couple of my ink drawings and redone them in pencil then watercolor on the Aquabord™ surface.

All the drawings I do are original–no tracing, no projection–which is why even though they are from the same photograph the ink and the watercolor versions will have some differences. The way I look at it, I don’t really know my subject until I’ve drawn it, and now that I’m drawing it twice I know it even better! I’m playing around with colors for the horses, too. I’ve got way too many photos of bays, so a couple of bays made a transition, one to palomino and one to a kind of roan colored coat. It makes it more interesting attempting to get the shadow and highlight areas right when changing the colors.

Meanwhile, I’ve still got to work on the new oil painting of the barn. I’ve been a slacker lately in the painting department (too much time spent riding a bunch of horses) but I will get back to it because I’m really curious to see how it’s going to turn out. You’d think the artist would have a plan and know exactly how it was going to turn out, but you’d be wrong!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in Aquabord, art, horses, ink drawings, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From ink to Aquabord™

  1. Hansi says:

    The cool thing about art is, ya never really know how it’s gonna turn out, but rather work with what ya got goin’.

    Like

  2. nokotahorse says:

    Your drawings of horses are so wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

