Crafty-ness wins again (a really short brag)

When I heard my painting “Coming on Lightly” had been accepted into the Culture and Agriculture exhibit in Wisconsin, I knew the moment had come to figure out the cheapest way to get it there. I gave up my wood shipping crates a while ago because they were too heavy and galleries hated unscrewing wood panels to get to the artwork. Probably the most well-known cardboard, foam-lined custom artwork shipping boxes are made by Airfloat. They are really expensive–over $100 for the size I needed. So I decided to make my own custom foam-lined box. Total cost: around $20. Best part of all, the exhibit is over, my artwork was returned today, and the box and the artwork were both in pristine condition. I may not win a bunch of awards at art shows, but I sure can build some tough boxes!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, gallery show and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

