The Sun has Rizen

Sunrize but no shadows!

Sunrize but no shadows!

The painting is finished, but you may be somewhat puzzled by the title of the post and the caption under the photo. Sometimes I get carried away being a bit punny, but I will explain because I know nobody has a clue what I’m talking about. This is one of the few paintings I’ve done that  is based on a photo taken on an overcast day. Thus the lack of shadows on the ground and on the horse. There is, of course, some shading necessary to define the contours of the horse, but it’s minimal in this case. The autumn colors on the foliage in the background make it seem like it might have been a sunny day, but in my numerous adventures photographing colorful trees I have oddly found that the colors “pop” from a background even more on an overcast or rainy day than they do in the sun. One of my favorite landscapes is this one I painted from a New England photo trip on a misty day–

NE8-for-web

A scene from the Berkshires area of western Massachusetts in mid-October. It kind of begs for some ponies wandering around in the middle of it, but this was before I began my horse portrait adventure.

Next up will be some more Aquabords to take with me to a horse expo in Michigan next month. Can’t have too many Aquabords at a big show!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in Aquabord, art, horse portrait, horses, landscape, latest version, painting techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

