We do have Attitude!

The end result of what seemed like endless hours of painstaking work.

The end result of what seemed like endless hours of painstaking work.

Original source photo taken at the Michigan Horse Council Stallion Expo

Original source photo taken at the Michigan Horse Council Stallion Expo

Thought you might like to see what I started out with. I think I got most of it. The horses were standing in bright sunshine in front of an open doorway to the exhibit area. I liked the light/dark contrast so decided to keep it. I didn’t think the handlers added much to the composition, so they had to go. Hope they aren’t reading my blog!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, draft horses, horses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We do have Attitude!

  1. Really nice, Alli! I particularly like the plaited mane (:

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Thanks Chris! That plaited mane had me cross-eyed for many hours. Drawing it was agonizing, and when I finally started to paint it I realized it was still wrong–so had to go over it again!

      Like

  2. jan fedorenko says:

    Incredible…!!!

    Like

  3. ronald maxson says:

    why didn’t you include the guy in the painting? (har!)

    Like

  4. Hansi says:

    Wow! That really turned out well. Except ya left out the old geezer holdin’ the reins 🙂

    Like

  5. terrimiller says:

    Always loved photographing & painting Belgians! But I hear ya about painting those plaits & ribbons!

    Like

Leave a Reply

