It’s winter already!

Roz and Stoniie

Roz and Stonie

Here we have another little Aquabord™ commission just completed. I didn’t know how long I would have to wait to post it, since it was commissioned as a gift. The catch was, would it be a birthday gift (post sooner) or a Christmas gift (post much later!)–or both? This always happens when I know both the giver and the recipient of the painting. I had one of my famous “blur” distortions ready just in case it turned out to be a Christmas present, but fortunately didn’t need to use it.

This painting of Roz and her horse Stonie (you may remember Roz’s name from a painting I did called “Roz’s Barn“–it’s the same Roz) was another challenge because the original photo reference was quite dark and also fairly fuzzy. I could lighten things up in Photoshop, but I would have to rely on how I knew Roz and Stonie looked in real life to try to get their expressions right. I’m sure this painting will be treasured by Roz because she lost her Stonie this year. Another one of our Willow Tree horses who was somewhere near 30 years old!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in Aquabord, art, horse portrait, horses, horses and carts, Willow Tree and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s winter already!

  1. artscottnet says:

    Truly inspiring work, Alli; Thank you for sharing

    Like

  2. What a great commissioned painting.

    Like

  3. ronald maxson says:

    i’m sure roz will like this very much–ron

    Like

  4. munchow says:

    It’s a beautiful painting. I love the quite and peaceful feeling of the smooth winter landscape, the stillness and compactness of massive snow. Great work, Alli!

    Like

Leave a Reply

