All caught up

From "paint by number" pencil to watercolor splendor!

From “paint by number” pencil to watercolor splendor!

Happy to report that I got my rear in gear (actually I was sitting on my rear for several hours to get this painting done, but why be nit-picky?) and got Luke from pencil drawing to full color. This is watercolor on Aquabord™ again. I think I’m getting fairly good at this. But as usual, half way into this painting I was sure it wasn’t going to work. That’s when the artist just sits back and calmly says something along the lines of well, I guess this is just another rabbit I’ll have to pull out of a hat. I had been laying down the preliminary colors fairly rapidly. It felt almost as if I had no control over what my hands were doing. When I realized what was happening I commanded myself to slow down, and then things started to take shape nicely. Thank goodness for self-realization, right?

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in Aquabord, art, horse portrait, horses, painting techniques, watercolor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All caught up

  1. Clover says:

    It is spectacular, Alli! Congrats!

    Like

  2. Your artwork is beautiful:)

    Like

  3. lori graydon says:

    that’s lovely!

    Like

  4. This painting is lovely, Alli. I think Luke needs to be added to the next card collection!

    Like

  5. I love your shadows and lighting Ali. Just beautiful!

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      The source for this painting was a photo I took myself. I got really lucky because I didn’t plan it at all. I just showed up with my camera one afternoon and my chosen subject was positioned perfectly to be sculpted by the sharp light/dark contrast. It was windy, which gave a really nice flow to his mane. He is also by nature a very curious horse, so all I had to do was call his name to get his attention. So nice when they cooperate!

      Like

Leave a Reply

