Something just for me

billy-hay-bar-pencil

Here’s a pencil drawing on 16 x 20 canvas for what is most likely the last but most important (to me, anyway) portrait I will ever do of Billy. It’s from the photo at the top of a previous post and I’m sure hoping I can do him justice. This drawing is not like my usual prep drawings for oil paintings…which tend to resemble paint-by-number lines. This is more like a combination of the lines and what would have been ink over them if I wasn’t aiming for a really soft look.

In the meantime, I got word that the secret commission will probably be delivered sometime next week, so stand by for the unscrambled version!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, horse portrait, horses, painting techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Something just for me

  1. that is very sensitive and delicate image; you surely know every nuance of the flowing mane and those intelligent ears and full-of-wisdom eyes. lovely!

    Like

  2. it certainly does to justice to billy. the detail is terrific. also looking forward to the unscrambled commission. speaking of that, i loved the the scrambled version, which seemed to me like abstract painting!

    Like

  3. jan fed says:

    beautiful…you could just leave it as is…..

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Jan, I really could leave it at this point. But if I had listened to you before, I never would have finished your beloved Frosty! And you know how much you liked it when it was done!

      Like

  4. Love the sketch, can’t wait to see the finished piece. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

