Well, Christmas came early

Here's the unscrambled version of the last post's pyramids.

Here’s the unscrambled version of the last post’s pyramids.

This is Ben, another of a long line of horses who are no longer with us. The photo reference for this painting was taken the day before he died, and his owner loved the way the camera flare looked like heaven’s light shining down on him. The photo needed a little more light and contrast, so I emphasized the richness of the colors and the brightness of the rays, while leaving the background hills and trees fairly dark. There were also very strong highlights over the head, neck and back which I thought glowed beautifully so I made sure they showed through too. Ben’s owner got the painting today because my client just couldn’t wait two more days to give it to her. So you, dear readers, get to see it early too!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in Aquabord, art, horse portrait, horses, light, watercolor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Well, Christmas came early

  1. Horses lost. Gets me every time…

    Like

  2. wow, this is so different. astonishing, really.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      I would love to say that it was different by means of my unbridled creativity, but–as always happens with portraits, I pretty much have to paint what I see. Which never keeps me from embellishing it a little bit either!

      Like

  3. 8m33 says:

    I agree, the blazes of natural light add to the emotional feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful piece Alli!

    Like

Leave a Reply

