Well, maybe this time

Here’s a quick trip through the first painting in the new series titled “Sky Pads”. I’m set up to do the second one, but still sitting on the fence with the first. I had to stop after the second pass and let it settle in my mind a bit, but ultimately decided that I really didn’t like how the pads just sort of popped out of the background. Had a mental picture of them blending in so that the viewer could not tell exactly whether they were floating or not. So I darkened both the background and the pads and I think I am happy with it. But I need to get started on the second one without stalling around waiting for my brain to say the first one is OK.

And now for something a little different.

Original paint pour.

 

About 5-6 hours more work than the first photo.

First pass.

 

"Sky Pads #1", second iteration.

Second pass–thought about stopping here.

 

Darker is better?

Darker is better? Hoping I am stopping here.

 

Paint pour for the second one in the series

Paint pour for the second one in the series

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, oil paintings, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well, maybe this time

  1. sorry, but i like ‘second pass’ best–not that any of the others aren’t attractive each in their own way–it’s just the way i see them.

    Like

  2. Karin Bielefeld says:

    Liked first pass better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

