Second Thoughts

After staring at the color wash on Sky Pads 4 I decided that it didn’t really speak to me. I don’t generally push forward with a painting if I have absolutely no picture in my head of where it might go. On the other hand, I never have an image of the completely finished product in my head before I start either!

So after I had drawn in the outlines of the lily pad leaves I decided that #4 needed another attempt at a wash. I also decided that the colors would probably work better for me if I flipped the painting upside down.

Here are the two versions…

Undercoat for Sky Pads 4

Undercoat for Sky Pads 4

Second wash.

Second wash.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What I see in the second version is a hint of sky reflection and undercurrrents of water. You as the viewer are not expected necessarily to see this yet. You may shamelessly say that you do not and I will totally accept that statement  🙂 . I, however am glad that I do see it as I now have a starting point for the rest of the painting.

 

 

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, landscape, oil paintings, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second Thoughts

  1. the second wash definitely looks better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

