Finally final

Final version of Skypads 5. I have made an executive decision...

Final version of Skypads 5. I have made an executive decision…

This photo more accurately represents what the painting really looks like than the previous photos which were just quick shots in natural daylight. The colors are more subtle here, not because I did anything to make them that way but because the lighting was set up under controlled conditions. Which, of course, takes a lot more time. So I save it for the final version. Before I went to all the trouble to set up this photo, I ran the previous “maybe final” version past my built-in art critic, Greg. Here’s how I remember our phone conversation–

ME: Did you see my latest blog?

G: What? Which one? I don’t think so.

ME: I thought you subscribed to it–don’t you get an email when I post?

G: No, no email.

(followed by a long pause while he subscribed to the blog and viewed the latest post)

ME: So, do you think this painting is done?

G: I don’t know, I haven’t seen the actual painting.

ME: Well, then is the virtual painting done?

G: I want to see the paint running.

ME: It IS running! Don’t you see all those runny lines?

G: Oh, yeah. The white spots make the background recede in perspective into the distance.

ME: Yes, they do.

G: Yeah, I think it’s done. You handle paint really well.

ME: No brushes were used in this painting. Does tipping a canvas around while the paint runs qualify as “paint handling”? (laughter)

G: YES.

ME: OK, then I think it’s done too.

************************************************************************************

Now for some real news. Skypads 4 got accepted into the Box Factory MAAC (Michigan Annual Art Contest). Yay!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, Box Factory for the Arts, gallery show, landscape, oil paintings, painting techniques, photography challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Finally final

  1. Clover says:

    I love this one, Alli! It’s ethereal and deep. Congrats on Skypads 4’s acceptance!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sorry, but i liked the immediately previous version better. that doesn’t mean anything is wrong with this version–i’m just relating my individual perception.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Unfortunately for the digital age, it’s impossible to know what somebody else is seeing on their computer screen. I try to get the colors and light as close as possible to reality, but “reality” is what I’m seeing on MY screen. I also have kept around an old laptop, and what I see on my new one is often way different than the old one. Actually I prefer the old one, but it’s not working very well anymore so I just keep it around as a kind of backup. At least what we have now with backlit LCD screens is way better than the old CRTs. A small consolation…

      Like

  3. Ann Clark says:

    Alli,
    Very beautiful painting! I like Greg don’t always read these, but the image caught my attention and do I did. Wish we could paint together for a reunion, but alas, this inspires me to get back at it.
    Miss you,
    Ann

    Like

  4. Art contest! Exciting! You’ll have to let us know how it goes – very pretty!

    Like

  5. This is lovely. There seems to be a glitch. I thought I was following your blog but it says I am not so when I clicked on follow it wouldn’t let me follow. Hmmmmm gremlins?

    Like

  6. It’s a lovely painting (even if it’s technically not painted). I love the paint running into each other. Gives an ethereal appearance. Finally, congratulations for being accepted at the Michigan Annual Art Contest. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

