Monster painting taking shape

The only realistic part of this painting...

The only realistic rendering of this painting…enjoy it while you can!

Just as in the rest of the Sky Pads series, all of this lovely realistic-looking stuff will soon hide among and behind layers of drippy paint. Before that, however, I will fill in the lines you can see in the background with a general idea of light and shadow that was in the original photo. After that, I can have fun pouring more paint!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, landscape, oil paintings, painting techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monster painting taking shape

  1. I have to say, I like it already!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alli Farkas says:

      I expect to generate at least one plea to stop now it’s perfect. But to me, rendering something realistically is a challenge for the artist but does not challenge the viewer. I want the viewer to do more than think “oh, the painting looks just like a water lily”. Viewers need to be compelled to figure out what the heck is going on in the painting…at least from their own personal perspective.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Merry Mayer says:

    I like the idea of obscuring the image. It makes the leap from pretty picture to the viewers’ longing to discover what’s in the layers. It jumps the divide from just a pretty picture to “Art”. Go ahead, push me to cross the boundaries of the ordinary….make me contemplate!!!

    I’m excited to see how your surfaces will emerge. A play of transparent &
    opaque? Pour baby pour….Oh, and yes, you might ruin it all together! (But there is no gain if your work becomes too precious. That was the advice from one of my favorite instructors)

    Like

  3. Alli Farkas says:

    Your last paragraph—same advice from one of mine!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

