Suddenly salad…I mean…Sky Pads 12

Mixed salad? With a dollop of dressing?

Mixed salad? With a dollop of dressing?

Yes, all those carefully crafted lily pads are still underneath the top coats, but you do have to look for them. I’m just enjoying the color layers and the depth of this painting, so I hope you do too. It’s somewhat large, another 3′ x 4′ canvas, so it of course looks a bit more dramatic in real life.

There are probably about five layers over the last version you saw, but I didn’t take intermediate in-progress photos because I truly had no idea where I was headed and the in-between versions did not speak to me till almost the end. This one really demanded that I push through it to get somewhere I liked. So this is, as they used to say on TV, the final answer.

Artist’s reception for Retro♦Spect is tonight at Harbor Shores in St. Joseph, MI. More on that next time. I also hoofed it (well, drove, actually) about 100 miles north to deliver two Sky Pads (#6 & #11) to Lowell, MI, just outside Grand Rapids. The Lowell Art Center is hosting a regional competition for western Michigan artists, and are judging by my favorite method–the actual artwork. More on that when I hear back from them.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, gallery show, landscape, oil paintings, painting techniques, Sky Pads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Suddenly salad…I mean…Sky Pads 12

  1. Wow, this looks really different from what you’ve done before! I like this style too!

    Like

  2. I really like this one and how you play with abstract forms and colours. For me its a whole landscape with landscape – layer upon layer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

