The (temporarily) abandoned baby

Background pour for #13

So who remembers this one–from almost a month ago??!! I didn’t completely forget about it; it was staring at me from my work table every day. But as I produce more and more of these the challenge increases to find somewhat of a different take on the subject matter. Which in turn opens the door to some rather long-term procrastination. I mustered the courage to at least add in the forms of the lily pads…

 

 

 

Background wash with detailed rendering of lily pads.

Now I am contemplating some steps backward toward the more ethereal quality of Sky Pads 11. Don’t know if I will be able to pull it off because I have this frustrating tendency to make the subsequent washes of paint too thick. Will attempt to restrain myself to something approaching a lemonade consistency…and hopefully we will still be able to see the pads through the next layers of paint.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, landscape, oil paintings, painting techniques, Sky Pads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The (temporarily) abandoned baby

  1. Nancy Powers says:

    Coming along nicely! I love the lily pads, just the way you have them. That would certainly be “a different take on the subject matter.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Right now it looks like one painting style superimposed on another. The contrast looks pretty neat, but my goal is to integrate the two diverse elements into one entity, hopefully with the result of making the viewers stop a bit longer to form their own interpretation of what’s going on by digging a little deeper into the layers. Ah yes, hope springs eternal. Let me know what you think again when it’s finally done.

      Like

  2. I like the current state too, but I know you usually put a really special twist on it at the end, making everything come together, blended, and sort of mysterious looking. Standing by to see it!!

    Like

  3. ‘lemonade consistency’ – that made me smile!new
    sometimes letting something sit for a while can bring new energy… i cheated and saw the ‘next’ post and went backwards… so now i’ll return to the future!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

