Adding some illusion

Background wash with detailed rendering of lily pads.

Sky Pads 13, second pass with a few ripples and reflections

 

So, seriously, I am making a huge effort to keep this painting transparent and simple. This is not the final version, just one of a few more intermediate steps.

 

I was unsure how I wanted to accomplish the ripple pattern, but fortunately I had noticed a few weeks back when ice was melting on the pond behind my house that it was melting in some interesting horizontal patterns therefore took a few obligatory photos. So I superimposed a semi-transparent layer of the ice on top of my background wash photo and adjusted it till I got something I liked. After printing it out, the painting part became easy.

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, landscape, oil paintings, painting techniques, Sky Pads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adding some illusion

  1. Gives it much more depth (:

    Like

  2. Yes! That was it, ties it all together. I had to click on these images to really see them – they’re both beautiful Alli.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

