I don’t usually take this long…except when I get stuck

Sky Pads 13 version 4…ack!!! Can you believe it??!!

I was totally stuck on what step to take next with this painting. I finally decided to just start dropping some soupy colors on it and see what would happen. My original goal was to keep it a bit more light and airy, and it still is. I have mostly succeeded, if you compare it to what I was trying to backtrack from, which was its immediate predecessor:

Paint riot of Sky Pads 12

I’m still thinking I should go back in and bring up the shapes of some of the pads on the left hand side in number 13. But on the other hand, maybe I should set a limit on the thinking time and if I don’t decide in a couple more days I could just call it finished.

MY BIG PRIZE

In the meantime, let me tell you about my big prize! I subscribe to a wonderful website for art/craft fair artists called ArtFairInsiders.com. It lists shows across the country of interest to roving artists, and also has several pages which include blog posts, helpful advice for outdoor exhibitors, supply sources and services. It’s free, but they were holding a pledge drive this week with super prizes and so I pledged some $$ and wonder of wonders my name was drawn for a prize. The selection process for the prizes was a little bit complicated, but the essence was that someone not associated with the website would draw 24 names and those people would submit their choices from a list of prizes. You could put 3 or 4 different ones on your list. Then the prizes were distributed according to the first choice of each person in the order their names were drawn. Since I was number 20 I figured I had zero chance of getting the first of my four choices and 100% chance of getting the fourth of my four choices. With me so far?

OK, so lo and behold I won my first choice prize, which is a very expensive set of mesh panels from Flourish that fit my Flourish Trimline tent and make my display look all neat and clean. Here’s an example (not my work because I don’t have the panels yet). But one could go completely crazy and hang stuff both inside and outside the walls if the weather gods are with you. Nothing twisting in the wind, any configuration goes, limitless (well, almost) possibilities!

Mesh panels–hang your art in any configuration you want!

 

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, exhibit booth, landscape, oil paintings, Sky Pads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I don’t usually take this long…except when I get stuck

  1. Sometimes when getting stuck, it’s about moving on and just doing something isn’t it. I like the result even if it’s not quite what you had in mind. Then, congratulations with getting the your first choice and the mesh panels.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Yes, the end result is very close to what I had in mind, and I’ve definitely decided to block back in the pads on the left side, although not so much that they take over the painting. Should be only maybe an hour’s work left to do.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mangiardi, Paul says:

    Well worth the wait, Alli. Well done.

    You should get a booth at one of the local art fairs this year..

    Regards,

    Paul D. Mangiardi

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Would have to get a trailer to do a local fair that wasn’t within a few miles of home. My art is so big that I couldn’t fit both a tent and the artwork into my truck. I will be in a local show in July–will have to make to trips to get everything there unless the guy friend can help me out with a second vehicle! The horse portrait shows are easier because the paintings are a lot smaller.

      Like

  3. One painting and I had a very strong battle of wills.. I wonder if there’s some misalignment of planets/stars at work here? Last night a new painting leaped out of the starting gate with amazing strength, so all’s better now.

    Congrats on getting something of true value, though I am not sure how one attaches the art to thse panels.. Looks smooth and impressive, no matter how it’s done!

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      The art is attached with either drapery hooks or “S” hooks. The mesh is a heavy duty polyester open weave fabric, so an “S” hook will slide right into it without distorting the mesh. The panels themselves have aluminum hooks at top, Velcro straps at legs, and buckle straps at bottom edge. When fastened tightly, they can hold as many (up to 15 pounds each) pieces of artwork as you can fit in the panel space. Pretty nifty, especially considering that a complete set of three only weighs 23 pounds as opposed to any combination of traditional metal or wood and wire racks that would offer the same exhibit space and don’t even fold up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

