Last watercolor detour for a while

 

A watercolor experiment with dense foliage and fog

A watercolor experiment with dense foliage and fog

Sometime last summer I looked out the back door and saw an ephemeral layer of fog floating over the Mill Pond. I grabbed my camera and raced the hundred feet down to the dock to get as many photos as I could before it all dissipated. It was fortunate that I hurried, because the scenario only lasted two or three minutes. About a week ago I must have gotten the feeling that maybe if I painted something green springtime would come soon. I also wanted to try once again to get some believable foliage since I had been fooling around with watercolor foliage (somewhat unsuccessfully) for a few weeks already. I did this one the hard way–no masking, no sponging, no scraping, no spattering. Just layers and layers of tiny brushwork. I’m happier now.

Background, rider and saddle, and bridle are done on Cantana's portrait.

Background, rider and saddle, and bridle are done on Cantana’s portrait.

In between watercolor sessions I squeezed in some more work on Cantana. I’m really happy with how this one is coming along. Just need to do as well on the horse as I have on the rest of the painting!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, dressage, horse portrait, horses, landscape, painting techniques, watercolor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Last watercolor detour for a while

  1. love the detail on the bridle. that watercolor is terrific!

    Like

  2. Hansi says:

    The watercolor experiment turned out really good. Almost thought it was a photograph upon first look.

    Like

  3. A beautiful painting of the Mill Pond. And, yes, Cantana is coming beautifully together. I am sure you will be able to paint the horse as well as the surroundings.

    Like

  4. Cecilia says:

    Wow, I am totally impressed, keep painting, your talent is awesome!

    Like

  5. I like your watercolor detour painting, Just recently decided to explore the world of watercolor painting myself to see what I can create. Any suggestions for a beginner?

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      My best suggestion, seriously, is to take a beginner’s watercolor class. It doesn’t have to be at any prestigious institute, there are a lot of competent watercolorists out there teaching at community centers and art centers. The biggest advantage is that they can demonstrate right in front of you the things that you really need to know. Like the different types of papers (rough, hot press, cold press) and what kind of results you can expect from each. Also how to prepare your paper, depending on whether you are using loose sheets or watercolor blocks. Finally, there are a lot of little “tricks” watercolorists use and also lots of pitfalls to avoid–all of which can be demonstrated. You will probably be frustrated at first, but you will be in a long line of temporarily frustrated people, so don’t give up!

      Like

      • Thanks and I will take your best suggestion to learn from a professional watercolorist.And, I don’t plan to give up until I achieve the results I’m looking for. I have several projects already sketched out on my drawing board just waiting for that color to be applied.

        Like

  6. Rosemary Johnston says:

    Love the watercolor and Cantata too. I don’t think I have a future as an artist, but I do intend to do more writing now that I am retired.

    Like

  7. The pond painting looks great and the horse is coming along splendidly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

