Lakota and a bunch of straight lines

Lakota, practicing his "greeter" pose.

Lakota, practicing his “greeter” pose.

Let me start by saying straight lines are not my favorite thing. So here we have a really nice-looking horse surrounded by—straight lines. My long-ago mentor used to say that you should draw everything free-hand so it looked like your lines were making an artistic mark. Then he would say, somewhat sarcastically, that if you wanted a straight line you should use a ruler. OK, ruler in hand I have made an unusually (for me) large number of straight lines to successfully enclose Lakota in a relatively realistic-looking stall.

Not to worry, when I start to paint I can rarely make myself stay within perfectly straight lines. So it will look “painterly” in spite of myself when it’s all done!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in art, drawing, horse portrait, horses, new horse portrait and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lakota and a bunch of straight lines

  1. Clover says:

    Like the interaction between the straight lines and the flowing ones, makes for a dynamic composition.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. laura geneve says:

    I can feel him reaching for me through the screen.

    On Mon, Oct 24, 2016 at 3:44 PM, Alli Farkas Artist Adventures wrote:

    > Alli Farkas posted: ” Let me start by saying straight lines are not my > favorite thing. So here we have a really nice-looking horse surrounded > by—straight lines. My long-ago mentor used to say that you should draw > everything free-hand so it looked like your lines were mak” >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such exquisite drawing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

