Off to somewhat of a start

The beginnings of Nik

The beginnings of Nik

I had been about to start my third of four paintings due by Christmas when Thanksgiving got in the way. I went to Ohio to spend the holiday with the boyfriend’s family and thought it would be a great idea to take the canvas (which only had a pencil drawing on it at the time) along with me and work on it there. Especially since all I needed to take with me was my pen and some ink.

Well, it was a good idea but somewhat faulty in the execution. I  hadn’t counted on the house being quite so noisy (lots of football games, guests, conversations, music, a way-too-friendly Vizsla, you  name it) so I had to really plan ahead to find some quiet time in order to concentrate on what I was doing. Earplugs helped! And as you can see from the photo, I haven’t quite finished the shading on the neck area yet, even though I am now back in my own house!

You may have noticed that one of Nik’s ears has a chunk missing from the tip. Apparently, that is one of his claims to fame and also the source of his name. My client wanted to make sure I didn’t try to “fix” that ear!

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in new horse portrait and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

