Eden works on her tan

Eden with 3 or so coats of paint

Eden with 3 or so coats of paint

Here’s Eden after three or so painting sessions. Some areas have more than three coats, others still waiting to catch up. There are many more passes to go, as usual. I’m always a little skittish about putting up a painting in progress because I know it is only a hint of the final product and I don’t want to spook my clients needlessly. But on the other hand, it’s also fun to see it take shape as long as you can just go with the flow and somehow manage not to prejudge it. I don’t think there’s even one painting I’ve done where I haven’t said to myself, oh geez, that’s never going to work–and then it does, somehow, miraculously. Kind of like an adrenaline rush for a gal who doesn’t engage in extreme sports… 🙂

About Alli Farkas

Equine and landscape artist specializing in rural Americana
This entry was posted in latest version, painting techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eden works on her tan

  1. Gina Ayersman says:

    Love it! As I mentioned before, I thought the color would really bring her to life. It’s amazing how I can see/feel her personality! My husband says i shouldn’t keep peeking at the painting since it is a present. He says I should wait and be surprised…I’m not good at waitng for surprises.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Gina, you could diplomatically mention to Chuck that he wouldn’t want to just let a contractor remodel his house without an occasional peek at what was happening, would he? Even if the remodel was a gift?? 😉

      Like

      • Gina Ayersman says:

        Funny! Chuck is one of those guys who dreads any occasion requiring gifts…especially if he is the one who has to pick the gift on his own. I will say he has redeemed himself with this one. I already have a wall picked out to hang the painting so I will see it first thing every morning. Can’t wait!

        Like

  2. Alli, I’m really enjoying your work in progress depictions. As a former illustrator (long time ago) for print feature sections and articles, I’m amazed at the depth of your painting process. I’m also impressed at how much your skill has improved. It’s so much fun watching this mare come to life.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the journey, Nanette! I certainly am! I guess what they say is true–practice makes perfect. Not at perfect yet, but getting closer. Of course, painting is sort of like riding; even if you’re a master you’re still learning. So maybe perfection isn’t the objective after all, rather the pursuit of mastery of multiple techniques.

      Like

  3. munchow says:

    It’s so fun to follow the progress. Eden is really coming alive. I love the colours and the way you work. And I think it’s very brave of you to reveal your work during the progress. I wouldn’t like to show pictures that I weren’t fully done. But I will have to rethink it, because watching you is very interesting.

    Like

    • Alli Farkas says:

      Otto, I guess I’m lucky in the sense that my clients have usually seen my work in person at a horse show or horse expo-type event, so they have a good idea of what to expect…no real surprises there. However, I do think it’s a good idea, for me anyway, considering that my layering technique makes it difficult to make changes, that a client is able to tell me they don’t like something very early in the process so I have a better chance at fixing it. I follow several artists on Facebook who also show their work in progress, and I agree with you, it’s a lot of fun to watch it happen, and sometimes it’s just downright amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

